What are the Chakras?

by Kathy Ashley August 15, 2016

what are the chakras

All around our physical bodies, but only visible to some, is an energy field that is known as a rainbow-like aura or luminous light.

Scientists can measure the electromagnetic field close to our skin, which is often seen in dim light conditions as a fine golden glow around a person. The human aura extends beyond that, sometimes as far as 30 ft. This energy field communicates with our physical body by flowing through concentrated spirals of energy. These spiraling energy centers are known as "chakras". 

There are seven main chakras that communicate with the body's endocrine and lymphatic systems by feeding in good energy and disposing of unwanted energy.  

Just like the body has organs, the chakras are the organs of the aura. They are pulsating discs of focused energy with certain color affinities, and they are attached directly to the spine.

Chakras transmit information from the aura and represent a blueprint of the body; they also hold information of past pain and trauma, as imprints in the auric field. These affect our emotional and physical health through their connection to the endocrine glands that regulate human behavior.


The Seven Major Chakras

Chakra Symbols

Base or Root (Muladhara)

The Base Chakra is also known as the Root Chakra. It is the first of the seven major chakras, associated with the element of earth. Energetically, this chakra channels earth energy up through the feet and legs to process and stabilize it. The energy moves up the spine and balances the endocrine system through the release of hormones.

Sacral (Svadisthana)

 The Sacral Chakra is known as the spleen and navel center. This second chakra is associated with the water element. It is linked to the adrenal glands which is responsible for the production of adrenaline, cortisol and aldosterone.

Solar Plexus (Manipura)

This Solar Plexus Chakra is located at the navel, and is associated with stress. It is positioned over one of the main regions of the body that reacts to stress. These nerves can be felt as a tight knot if you press the area just blow the sternum. 

Heart (Anahata)

The Heart Chakra is located at the center of the chest and is the seat of the divine soul. This chakra is at the center of our auric body, at the midpoint of the seven chakras and considered a gateway to higher consciousness.  

Throat (Vishuddha)

The Throat Chakra is considered an important bridge from the heart, through the sequential activation of the chakras from the base to the crown of the head. It is this place, our voice, from where we can speak love. We can also use our voice to speak bitter words and hate, which cause imbalances in this chakra. 

Brow or Third Eye (Ajna)

The Brow Chakra, also known as the Third Eye Chakra, is associated with the mind, and in the realms of knowledge and wisdom. It is linked with the pituitary gland. Energetically it is linked with the pineal gland, which is in the center of the brain directly behind the eyes and secretes melanin & serotonin. Scientists have found that the pineal gland has a similar structure to the retina of the eye and may be photo-receptive.

Crown (Sahasrara)

 The Crown Chakra is located at the top of the head, and symbolizes duality within us to experience super-consciousness and then transcendental consciousness. It is associated with the pituitary and pineal glands. In combination with the endocrine glands, it focuses energetic information coming through the auric field at the crown of the head. In recent years the study of psychoneuroendocrinology has begun to bring these beliefs and understandings together with modern science.

It is important in the prevention of illness and disease that we nourish our chakras properly, as they are fundamental to holistic healing. The air we breathe, the water we drink and the food we eat fill us with nourishment that can be absorbed into our bodies through our chakras. If we distance ourselves from healthy food, air and water, disharmony can result. Maintain health and harmony with whole foods, outdoor activities, meditation, essential oils, mindfulness & relaxation.

Crystals can also be used to treat chakra imbalances. They have been connected with particular parts of the body and organs for thousands of years. Traditional Chinese Medicine and Indian Ayurveda, both over 5,000 years old, still use in modern medical prescriptions crystals that appear in formulas in ancient texts. Hematite, for example, is said to calm the spirit and so combat insomnia. It is also used for blood disorders as it is believed to cool the blood, arresting bleeding. Hematite is used today to relieve those same conditions.

Check out our Chakra Jewelry. We have some beautiful crystal and gemstone rings and pendants, all designed and handmade by us, with the corresponding chakra symbol cutout in the back of the piece. I feel good wearing these pieces, as they represent exactly what each of us should hold in abundance inside of us. 

If you like this post, please share the love! Like it and Share it with your friends using the social media buttons on this page. Thank you very much! Take care, and have a great week. XO



Kathy Ashley
Kathy Ashley


Also in Lifestyle Blog

Healthy Spring Greens Salad
Healthy Spring Greens Salad

by Kathy Ashley January 28, 2017 0 Comments

It's important to eat fresh, healthy greens with every meal. Even breakfast. Abundant in fruit, this Healthy Spring Greens Salad ...
Lifestyle Factors that Accelerate the Signs of Aging
Lifestyle Factors that Accelerate the Signs of Aging

by Kathy Ashley November 23, 2016 0 Comments

I think we all want to look and feel our absolute best, no matter our age. As lifestyle plays a ... 

Herbal Medicine
Herbal Medicine

by Kathy Ashley October 05, 2016 0 Comments

Herbs were the first drugs that humans had available. Over time, our ancestors learned which plants were harmful and which ones offered ...